Under the provisions of Section 1 of Act Number 291, Michigan Public ACTS OF 1967 (C.1948, Section 390.891 and 390.892)M.S.A. Section 15.1120 (51-52), the following Ordinances shall be enforced on the campus of Northern Michigan University. In addition the Michigan Vehicle Code and related laws concerning ownership and use of vehicles on the streets and highways of the State of Michigan will become a part of the Ordinances and will be enforced on all University property. It is unlawful to furnish the Public Safety Department with fraudulent information which would restrict the proper issuance of a parking permit and/or lot designator. All violations of these Ordinances are civil infractions.
BICYCLES PAGE 2, III.
DEFINITIONS PAGE 1, I.
ENFORCEMENT PAGE 13,14, XI.
GENERAL INFORMATION PAGE 11, IX.
LOST OR DAMAGED DECALS PAGE 6, VI., N.
MOTORCYCLES, MOTOR SCOOTERS, MOTORBIKES, MOPEDS PAGE 2, II.
PARKING LOT LOCATIONS PAGE 8,9,10, & 11 VIII.
PARKING REGULATIONS PAGE 7,8, VII.
PAYMENT OF FINES PAGE 12, X.
REGISTRATION FEES AND IDENTIFICATION PAGE 4, VI.
REGISTRATION OF MOTOR VEHICLES PAGE 2,3, I V.
REGISTRATION REFUNDS PAGE 7, VI., P.
SCHEDULUE OF FINES PAGE 13, XI., D.
SPECIAL ARANGEMENTS PAGE 5, VI., H.
TEMPORARY, ALTERNATE, HANDICAP AND OTHER REGISTRATIONS PAGE 5, VI., G.
VEHICULAR GASOLINE LEAKS PAGE 14, XII.
VISITORS PAGE 3,4 V.
WILDCAT SHUTTLE PAGE 1,2, IX. K.
THE CAMPUS MAP IS LOCATED IN THE CENTER OF THE BOOK
A. CAMPUS: includes all property owned by Northern Michigan University.
B. UNIVERSITY REGISTERED MOTOR VEHICLE: Describes all self-propelled motor vehicles bearing a valid Northern Michigan University registration decal, properly displayed.
C. COMMUTER: Includes all University students who drive from their off campus residence to the University.
D. RESIDENT: Includes all University students living in a Residence hall or University apartment.
E. UNIVERSITY YEAR: That period of time beginning with the first day of classes following fall semester registration through the last day of summer session.
F. VISITOR: Any person who is not a student, employee or tenant of the University.
G. GENERAL PARKING AREAS: Valid parking for all university registered vehicles.
II. MOTORCYCLES-MOTOR SCOOTERS-MOTORBIKES-MOPEDS:
A. Motorcycles, motor scooters, motorbikes and mopeds are considered motor vehicles and governed by these Ordinances:
1. They must be registered with Public Safety and the decal properly displayed. Failure to display permit may result in a $25.00 parking citation.
2. They must have proper safety equipment as specified by the Michigan Vehicle Code.
3. They may not be parked or stored in any campus building or entrance.
A. SHOULD BE REGISTERED WITH PUBLIC SAFETY. Registration can be done in the Public Safety Office or online at https://mynmu.nmu.edu/. Once you are signed into, https://mynmu.nmu.edu/ choose the student or employee tab. The link will be in the Public Safety Services section of the page under “click here to register your bicycle”.
B. Persons choosing to ride their bicycles on the roadway must abide by all traffic laws.
C. Persons choosing to ride their bicycles on the sidewalk must yield to pedestrians and have their bicycles equipped with a warning bell device audible 100 feet away.
D. Bicycles are to be stored in bicycle racks. If secured to trees/shrubs or building entrances or stairwells they are subject to removal by Public Safety.
E. Bicycle registration is free of charge and registration is permanent.
F. Bicycle owners not affiliated with the University may register bicycles in person at the Public Safety office.
IV. REGISTRATION OF MOTOR VEHICLES:
A. All students, faculty and staff operating a vehicle on campus must have it registered with the Public Safety Department.
B. Registered students may operate a motor vehicle subject to the University Ordinances.
C. All students, faculty and staff operating or parking a motor vehicle on campus must have it registered no later than 1 week following the first official day of classes each semester. A valid vehicle registration is required to register a vehicle. The vehicle registration must be in the students name or next of kin. CITATIONS ISSUED FOR FAILURE TO REGISTER (VIOLATION #8) WILL NOT BE EXCUSED AFTER THE REGISTRATION DEADLINE. IF YOU CANNOT REGISTER YOUR VEHICLE BY THE SPECIFIED DATE, PLEASE STOP AT THE PUBLIC SAFETY OFFICE AND OBTAIN A TEMPORARY PERMIT.
D. Vehicle registration is conducted at the Public Safety Department between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday. Saturday hours and extended hours are in effect fours days prior to the start of school and running through the first five days of school. Online registration is also available online at https://mynmu.nmu.edu/. Once you are signed into https://mynmu.nmu.edu/, choose the student or employee tab. The link will be in the Public Safety Services section of the page under “click here to register your vehicle”.
E. Motor vehicles brought on campus during the semester MUST be registered immediately.
F. Registration is valid for the periods listed in Sec. VI, B.
G. Faculty, staff and students living in University apartments must register their vehicles and pay the regular fees.
H. Individuals with "ASSIGNED PARKING" must display their lot designator with their vehicle registration decal. Designators are to be considered part of the registration decal.
I. Any visitor or operator of an unregistered vehicle on campus must report to the Public Safety Department for a temporary or visitor parking permit. Arrangements for temporary or visitor registration may be done 24 hours, seven days a week.
J. Vehicle must be registered with Public Safety by the registered owner of the vehicle or next of kin.
K. THE GREEN VISITOR METERS ARE AVAILABLE FOR VISITORS TO CAMPUS. A VISITOR IS ANY PERSON WHO IS NOT A STUDENT, EMPLOYEE OR TENANT OF THE UNIVERSITY.
A. Visitors who are on campus for the day may park in any legal space on campus. A legal space consists of a parking spot that is defined by two yellow lines on the ground. Yellow lines on the curb indicate a prohibited zone. Handicap spaces are available to visitors who have a current state or valid NMU handicap parking pass. Visitors who park at the meters must pay the appropriate meter fee. The cost is .25 per hour with a maximum of 4 hours.
B. Visitors who are on campus overnight must obtain a visitor pass from Parking Services and parked in the area they are assigned to. Overnight visitors are authorized to park in lot 20, 21, or lot 46. Please refer to the map in the center of this book for lot locations.
C. Arrangements for extended parking must be made by contacting Public Safety at 227-1476.
D. Visitors receiving parking tickets on campus should fill out the green visitor card or the reverse side of the ticket and bring them or mail them to the Public Safety Office.
VI. REGISTRATION AND IDENTIFICATION OF MOTOR VEHICLES:
A. Students and Faculty/Staff registering their vehicles must show a valid registrations for each vehicle registered.
B. STUDENT REGISTRATION FEES:
1. $140.00 for the University Year (Valid September 1 to August 31).
$70.00 for each additional registration.
2. $91.50 for the Winter Semester (Valid from January 1 to August 31).
$46.00 for additional registration.
3. $43.00 for the Summer Session (Expires August 31).
$21.50 for each additional registration.
C. FACULTY/STAFF REGISTRATION FEES:
1. $140.00 for the University Year (Valid: September 1 to August 31) If you will only be parking one vehicle on campus at a time, this permit can be transferred from car to car. All of the vehicles that this permit will be used on MUST be listed on your registration form.
$140.00 for each additional registration.
2. $91.50 for the Winter Semester (Valid from January 1 to August 31).
$91.50 for each additional registration.
3. $43.00 for the Summer Session (Expires August 31).
$43.00 for each additional registration (Expires August 31).
D. MOTORCYCLE REGISTRATION FEES:
1. $22.50 for the University year. (Valid: September 1, to August 31).
2. $11.25 for each additional registration.
3. Faculty/Staff who register a vehicle and want to include a Motorcycle as an additional vehicle on their faculty/staff permit must have the Motorcycle information on file with Public Safety. You must display your faculty/staff pass from your motorcycle. Failure to display your permit may result in a $25.00 parking citation. A motorcycle sticker is available as a second vehicle permit for $11.25.
E. Adjunct Faculty receives one permit as part of their benefit package. Second vehicle permits will be $140.00 for each additional permit and prorated accordingly after the fall semester.
F. Graduate Assistants are eligible for one parking permit at no charge. All additional permits would be at the faculty/staff rate.
G. TEMPORARY, ALTERNATE, HANDICAPPED, AND OTHER REGISTRATIONS:
1. Two week temporary permits can be issued to students or faculty/staff who do not have a vehicle registered or who have a temporary dealer plate on a new vehicle. Only one permit will be issued per semester.
2. Temporary parking permits can be purchased for $20.00 and valid for 30 days. (A limit of one per semester will apply)
3. Permission for an alternate use of an unregistered vehicle to be parked on campus may be obtained for a total up to 14 days per semester. If a vehicle is brought on campus more than the given days, it must be registered as a second vehicle.
4. Temporarily handicapped individuals should contact the Public Safety Department for issuance of a temporary "Handicapped Parking Permit." These permits are valid on campus for no more than 30 days a semester. A physician's statement is required. Forms are available from Public Safety. Temporary handicap permits issued by a state are valid on campus.
H. SPECIAL ARRANGEMENTS
1. Individuals requiring special arrangements for vehicle registration or special parking arrangements must contact Public Safety by telephone, email or mail to initiate these arrangements.
I. DECAL LOCATION: Registration decals are to be installed as follows:
1. Hanging decals must hang from the rear view mirror support when parked on campus. The face of the permit with the permit number should be facing outwards and visible from the outside.
2. Window stickers must be affixed to the inside lower right hand corner of the front windshield by the adhesive on the decal.
3. Failure to display vehicle registration permit could result in a $25.00 citation.
(This citation IS NOT excused...... NO EXCEPTIONS)
J. CHANGES: Changes in vehicles, license plate number and/or address must be reported to the Public Safety Department immediately.
K. OUTDATED DECALS: Must be removed from the vehicle.
L. TRANSFERRING REGISTRATION DECALS: Permits are only valid in the vehicle that is associated with the permit. Moving a permit from one vehicle to another is prohibited. Faculty/Staff are authorized to move permits from vehicle to vehicle as long as ALL of the vehicles are listed on their permit/vehicle record.
M. NEW VEHICLE: Whenever there is a change of motor vehicles, the registration decal must be returned to the Public Safety Department. A fee of $5.00 is charged to register the most recent vehicle or a second vehicle decal must be purchased. If the old decal is not returned, a $25.00 replacement fee will be charged. If the license plate number for the new vehicle will remain the same, the same registration decal may be used if you originally purchased a hanging permit. If you purchase a window sticker, you must return it to the Public Safety office and obtain a replacement for $5.00. If the window sticker is not returned, a $25.00 replacement fee will be charged. The new vehicle information must be reported to Public Safety by phone or at our office located at 102 of the Services Building.
N. LOST OR DAMAGED DECALS: If for any reason a registration decal becomes damaged, the remnants of the damaged decal MUST be returned and a replacement decal must be obtained from the Public Safety Department. A fee of $5.00 is charged to replace the decal if you return the damaged decal. If you no longer have your permit, a $25.00 replacement fee will be charged. If your permit is stolen and you file a police report you will not be charged for a replacement. If you choose not to file a report, you will be charged a $25.00 replacement fee.
O. REGISTRATION FEE REFUND:
1. Students graduating from the university, student teaching, studying abroad and or exchange students are eligible for a refund of one half amount paid during the fall semester. Parking permits must be returned to Public Safety within 30 days of the last day of class at the conclusion of the fall semester. (NO EXCEPTIONS)
2. Refunds for those withdrawing due to medical reasons will be sent to the Public Safety Parking Appeals Board for review. The Appeals Board will make a recommendation to the Director of Public Safety.
3. Faculty/Staff departing the university at the conclusion of the fall semester will be eligible for a refund of one half the amount paid during the fall semester for permits not covered by their current benefit package.
VII. PARKING REGULATIONS:
A. Parking on city streets is covered by Marquette City Ordinances.
B. Where parking on a university street is authorized, no parking is allowed during the hours of 2:00 a.m. to 7:00 a.m.