PGY2 HSPA Preceptor Biographies

PGY2 HSPA Preceptor Biographies

PGY2 HSPA Preceptor Biographies

Rafael Saenz, Pharm.D., MS

Director of Pharmacy

Director, PGY2 HSPA Program

Dr. Saenz is Pharmacy Administrator. He received his Pharm.D. degree from the MCV/VCU School of Pharmacy and his Masters of Science in Health System Pharmacy Administration from the University of Wisconsin while completing the combined Residency/ Masters Degree Program in Health System Pharmacy Administration from the University of Wisconsin Hospitals and Clinics. Prior to coming to UVA, Dr. Saenz was responsible for building Clinical Pharmacist Practice Models in the U.S. and Europe, combined Masters Degree/ Residency Programs in Hospital and Community Pharmacy settings, advanced technician practice models and ensuring compliance with national and international regulatory, safety and quality agencies. Dr. Saenz has served as Operations Manager for the University of Pittsburgh Medical Center Presbyterian Hospital and as Executive Director of Pharmacy Services for UPMC's International and Commercial Services Division.

Mark Chabot, R.Ph., MBA, MHA

Pharmacy Informatics Manager

Interim Inpatient Operations Manager

PGY2 Pharmacy Informatics Program Director

Mark Chabot received his B.S. Pharm from Butler University. Mark worked as a staff pharmacist and supervisor at University of Cincinnati Medical Center until 1997. Mark is responsible for the pharmacy informational system, pharmacy automation and supply chain. He has earned Masters in Health Administration and Business degrees from Pfeiffer University.

Stephanie Mallow Corbett, Pharm.D.

Director, Clinical Pharmacy Services

Dr. Mallow Corbett is the Director of Clinical Pharmacy Services. Dr. Mallow Corbett received her Pharm.D. degree from Albany College of Pharmacy. She completed ASHP-accredited residencies in Pharmacy Practice and Critical Care, and a Fellowship in Trauma/Critical Care at Fletcher Allen Health Care. She has focused research efforts in analgesia, sedation, and delirium. Dr. Mallow Corbett recently attained Fellowship status at the American College of Critical Care Medicine and will be inducted in January 2013.

Michelle W. McCarthy, Pharm.D., FASHP

Director, Medication Use Policy

Director, PGY1 Pharmacy Practice Program

Director, PGY2 Drug Information Program

Dr. McCarthy is the Director of Medication Use Policy and the residency program director for both the PGY1-Pharmacy residency and PGY2-Drug Information residency programs. Dr. McCarthy, a graduate of Mercer University, completed an ASHP-accredited Drug Information Practice Residency at the University of Pittsburgh. Awards include 1997 Samford University School of Pharmacy Teacher of the Year, 2003 Virginia Society of Health-System Pharmacists (VSHP) Pharmacist of the Year, and 2008 Louis P. Jeffrey Preceptor of the Year. She oversees the UVA Formulary, medication use evaluation program, regulatory, accreditation, and policies and procedures, and is Secretary of the Pharmacy and Therapeutics (P&T) and Antimicrobial Utilization Committees. She has been the Education Committee Chair, Continuing Education Administrator, and President of VSHP. She is the 2012 Chair for the ASHP Commission on Credentialing and is nationally recognized for her expertise in residency accreditation and training and development of customized training plans. Other professional interests include immunizations, medical writing, and publishing.

Steven R. Miller, R.Ph.

Director, Ambulatory Care Pharmacy Services

Steven Miller is Director, Ambulatory Care Pharmacy Services. Steven received his B.S. Pharm degree from MCV/VCU. Steven practiced in independent pharmacy for 19 years and served as the Supervisor for the UVA Outpatient Pharmacy.

Updated: 11/06/2013