/ SUNY Downstate Medical Center
University Hospital of Brooklyn
College of Medicine
College of Health Related Professions
College of Nursing
School of Graduate Studies
Graduate Program in Public Health / Members of the
Scientific Review Committees
The Scientific Review Committee members are appointed by the Department Chair or Dean of the Scientific Area listed below. If you have any questions about current membership, please contact the Department Chair or Dean listed in the first column below. For more information about the SUNY DMC IRB, please call 718-613-8480 or write
For additional information on the KCHC process please contact one of the following KCHC Facility Research Coordinators:
  • Bryce Petty:
  • Alyssa Conigliaro:
  • Dione Clarke:

Scientific Area / Scientific Review Committee Members
Department of Anesthesiology
James Cottrell, MD (Chair) / (Known within the department as Scholarly Oversight Committee)
James Cottrell, MD FRCA – Chair, Department of Anesthesiology
Ketan Shevde, MD – Vice Chair of Research
John Hartung, PhD – SOC Meeting Co-Chair, Professor & Associate Editor, Journal of Neurosurgical Anesthesiology
Audree Bendo, MD - Executive Vice Chair, Department of Anesthesiology
David Wlody, MD – Residency Program Director
Ming Zhang, MD PhD – Assistant Professor, Anesthesiology & Cell Biology
Ira Kass, PhD – Professor, Anesthesiology & Physiology and Pharmacology
Julie Rushbrook, PhD - Professor, Anesthesiology
Ivan Velickovic, MD – Director, OB Anesthesiology
Samrat Worah, MD – Director, Anesthesiology Critical Care
Dennis Dimaculangan, PhD – Director, Medical Education
Scientific Area / Scientific Review Committee Members
Department of Dermatology
Edward Heilman, MD (Chair) / Daniel Siegel, MD
Eve Lowenstein, MD
Department of Emergency Medicine
Michael Lucchesi, MD (Chair) / Richard Sinert, DO
Shahriar Zehtabchi, MD
Jennifer Martindale, MD
Department of Family Practice
David Stevens, MD (Chair) / Richard Sadovksy, MD
Margaret Donat, MD
Department of Medicine
Moro Salifu, MD (Chair)
Allergy Immunology - Rauno Joks, MD (Chief)
Cardiology - Jonathan Marmur, MD (Chief)
Endocrinology - Mary Ann Banerji, MD (Chief)
Gastroenterology & Hepatology -Shivakumar Vignesh, MD (Chief)
Hematology/ Oncology - Iuliana Shapira, MD (Chief)
Hospitalist - Rovie Mesola, MD
Infectious Diseases - Michael Augenbrun, MD (Chief)
Internal Medicine
PA Service
Pulmonary - Robert Foronjy, MD (Chief)
Rheumatology - Ellen Ginzler, MD (Chief)
STAR - Jack Dehovitz, MD (Director) / Paul Dreizen, MD
Subodh Saggi, MD
Department of Neurology
Daniel Rosenbaum, MD (Chair) / Steven R. Levine, MD
Arthur Grant, MD
Howard Crystal, MD
Daniel Rosenbaum, MD
Scientific Area / Scientific Review Committee Members
Department of Ob/Gyn
Ovadia Abulafia, MD (Chair) / Ozgul Muneyyirci-Delale, MD
Wen-Ching Lee, Ph.D.
Nagaraj Gabbur, MD
Yi-Chun Lee, MD
David Sherer, MD
Department of Ophthalmology
Douglas Lazzaro, MD (Chair) / John Danias, MD, PhD
Eric M. Shrier, DO
Douglas R. Lazzaro, MD
Department of Ortho Surg / Rehab Medicine
William Urban, MD (Chair) / Carl Paulino, MD
Aditya Maheshwari, MD
Department of Otolaryngology
Richard M. Rosenfeld, MD, MPH (Chair) / Sydney C. Butts, MD
Nira A. Goldstein, MD, MPH
Richard M. Rosenfeld, MD, MPH
Department of Pathology
Jenny Libien, MD, PhD (Chair) / Constantine Axiotis, MD
Raavi Gupta,MD
Jenny Libien, MD, PhD
Department of Pediatrics
Stephen Wadosky, MD (Chair) / Jacob Aranda, MD
Margaret Hammerschlag, MD
Department of Pharmacy
Nicholas Galeota, MS, RPh / LilyAnn Jeu, PharmD, BCPS, CPHQ
Teresa Chan, PharmD, BCPS
Stanley Moy, PharmD, BCPS
Tae Eun Park, PharmD, BCPS
Michael Casias, PharmD
Madhavi Gavini, PharmD, BCPS, AE-C, RYT
Larry Riccio, RPh, BCOP
Laurie Ferguson, PharmD, MHA
Ivor (Ian) Richards, PharmD
Rebecca Kavanagh, PharmD
Roopali Sharma, PharmD, AAHIVP, BCPS (AQ-ID)
Department of Psychiatry
Ayman Fanous, MD (Chair) / Daniel Cukor Ph.D.
Ayman Fanous, MD
Scientific Area / Scientific Review Committee Members
Department of Radiation Oncology
David Schwartz, MD (Chair) / David Schrieber, MD
Christopher S. Lange, S.B., D.Phil.
Department of Radiology
Deborah Reede, MD (Chair) / Arnold Strashun, MD
Stephen Waite, MD
Sundeep Mangla, MD
Department of Surgery
Devon John, MD (Chair) / John Kral, MD
Daniel Beckles, MD
Devon John, MD
Department of Urology
Jeffrey Weiss, MD (Chair) / Brian K. McNeil, MD
Llewellyn M. Hyacinthe, MD, FACS
Andrew G. Winer, MD
Jeffrey P. Weiss, MD
College of Nursing
Lori A. Escallier, Ph.D. RN CPNP-PC FAAN (Dean) / Shirley Girouard, PhD, RN, FAAN (Chair)
Veronica Arikian, PhD, RN
Sheryl Zang, EdD, FNP, CNS-BC
Nataliya Shaforost, DNP, FNP-C, CDE
College of Health Related Professionals
Allen Lewis, PhD, CRC (Dean) / Isaac Topor, Ed.D.
Joanne S. Katz, Pt, DPT, PhD
Joyce Sabari, PhD, OTR
Yalini Senathirajah, PhD
Downstate Cancer Center
Scientific Review Committee
Hematology/ Oncology - Iuliana Shapira, MD (Chief) / Please consult the Downstate Cancer Center Scientific Review Committee roster.
For more information, please contact Dr. Seema Chittalae.
SRC Chairman: Dr. Christopher Roman
SRC Vice Chair: Dr. Stacy Blain
SRC Vice Chair: Dr. MaryAnn Banerji
SRC Vice Chair: Dr. Iuliana Shapira
Lead CRA: Dr. Wen-Ching Lee
Associate CRA: Dr. Seema Chittalae
Biostatistics:Dr. Usha Govindarajulu
Bioinformatics: Dr Yalini Senathirajah
Kings County Hospital Center
Richard Sinert, DO (Research Chair) / Richard Sinert, DO

SRC Members 3.15.2018